Fruiting projects

Reviews, Directorial debuts, sitcom scripting and working on a project with George Takei. I’ve been deceptively busy.

It’s been a while, eh? The blog posts on this site are fairly sparse, but that’s because that’s not my focus now is it? No, this site is mainly to point out projects I’ve been working on. I’ve been updating the site fairly regularly with things I’ve written, but I’ve had a particularly fruitful time of it lately, so I thought I’d write a wee post pointing out some things that, if you squint your eyes and tilt your head a little, look like I have a career.

As ever I’ve been writing movie articles, primarily reviews, for Pop Culture Monster. The site’s planning on kicking things up a notch in the next few months so I’m excited about that. I’ve also been writing some business articles for The Sunday Business Post, which is nice.

My biggest projects however, have actually been not writing about things, but actually doing things, two projects I’m really excited to have been involved with. One of those was my directorial debut. A friend put me in contact with Kristin Kapelli, a great burlesque and cabaret performer who has been doing more and more comedy lately. A few months ago she released a music video for her song “Skanger Style“, a parody of PSY’s Gangnam Style. The video was a huge success and garnered over 60,000 views across the few pages it was uploaded to, as well as a fair bit of media attention. So Kristen decided to follow it up with “D4 Style”.

That’s where I came in. I came on board and directed the “D4 Style” video. We got to shoot in some great locations and spent loads of time capturing what I think turned out to be a great video. Check it out here.

Then there was the most exciting project of all. My cousin Eoin is a graphic designer and animator. He had an animated short premiere at the Galway Film Fleadh last year and he’s following it up with a new one entitled “The Missing Scarf” this year. Very early on he brought me in to help out with the scripting. It was great working with Eoin (and his producer Jamie). Then came the news that the narrator on the project would be George Takei! I’ve seen an early cut of the short and I have to say, I get goosebumps listening to George. Not just because that’s what George Takei’s voice does to you, but also because I wrote the words he’s performing.

Another project which didn’t go quite as well was a sitcom I was working on. It’s a project I’ve had gestating for a while now having been originated by my friend Anna Hayes years ago. Then during March, Sideline Productions put out a massive call for sitcom scripts. I had a pilot episode written, and I knuckled down and wrote another episode. It was a very focused period of writing. Unfortunately I got the e-mail today saying that my scripts didn’t make the cut. To be fair I was one of 176 submissions. It’s disappointing but I like to think that my script was liked, just not exactly what they were looking for. I know I wrote well, but 176 is a deep pile to rise to the top of. That sitcom isn’t dead yet.

So yeah I’ve been busy, hopefully next time you look at my projects, you won’t have to squint your eyes and tilt your head for it to look like I’ve got a career.

Leave a Reply

