The Missing Scarf wins Best Animation at Galway Film Fleadh

The Missing ScarfSo I’m just back from a great time at the Galway Film Fleadh. I was up for the premiére of The Missing Scarf which I served as script editor on. The audience reaction was great, we got the laughs we wanted and other less overt responses we wanted to other parts. My heart was pounding through the opening scene, but settled quickly. It was a true pleasure hearing George Takei putting such force behind words I had committed to page.

After the show there was a nice bit of buzz with friends and family who came for the screening. Unfortunately Eoin (Duffy, writer/animator/director) couldn’t make it from Vancouver but Jamie (Hogan, producer) was there in great form. Apparently he had been sitting right behind the judges for the screening and they seemed to react really well to The Missing Scarf.

That evening a I got a chance to attend an IFB mixer and had some good chats with a nice scattering of people up for the Fleadh. There was nice feedback for The Missing Scarf there and I also got a chance to chat with some of the people behind some of the other shorts which I really enjoyed.

I didn’t stick around for Sunday as I had stunt training and fittings for Vikings to attend, as well as my girlfriend’s birthday party, but I awoke to some great news this morning. Jamie got a call yesterday that he should make sure to attend the Fleadh awards ceremony, apparently his assessment of the judges reaction had been accurate, The Missing Scarf was up for something.

And not something small either, we won the big one! The James Horgan Award for Best Animation. Not only is this win supremely awesome in its own right, but it makes The Missing Scarf eligible for consideration in next year’s Oscars!

Eoin tells me that The Missing Scarf has a fairly busy touring schedule ahead of it and will be seen in a few festivals over the coming year. I’ll put up a full schedule when I see it but so far one that I’m fully aware of is the The Los Angeles International Short Film Festival. This is the biggest shorts festival in the world and features over 200 short films from around the world. Like Galway, LA is another feeder festival to the Oscars. We’re delighted not only to have gained entry to that festival, but The Missing Scarf was selected as one of just six films to screen on opening night.

I really do wish Eoin and Jamie the very best of luck for the future of The Missing Scarf, and I’m looking forward to whatever project I can get my teeth into next.

The James Horgan Award For Best Animation 2013 - The Missing Scarf

Leave a Reply

